I’ve been on a mission this year to post lots of examples of questions and tasks that I have used on a daily basis to deepen the thinking of the children in my year 6 class. I’m also posting activities that I’ve seen used in classes throughout the school. Below are all my posts from Autumn half-term 2. I hope that there’s something here that you may find useful!

First of all, I found this image from a Chinese textbook showing how > and = signs are introduced:Croc

A task from Y2 that encourages children to use the = sign in different places:
SymbolsA question which is very accessible but can be extended by children working systematically to find all possible solutions:
Addition reasoning

And another allowing children to explore parts and wholes:
KS1

An ‘immersion’ activity used to encourage children to see division as grouping (e.g. representing 26/3 as ‘how many 3s in 26?’):
Division immersion

And some questions that I’ve used with my own class.

Area and perimeter:
area 1 area 2

Percentages:
% 4 % 2 % 1Averages:
Average 2 Average 1 Average 3Below is the visual representation used to unpick that final question:Average 4

My favourite resources for providing deep, meaningful mathematical challenges are those that I have published with Alan Peat ltd. These are more rich, extended and often contextualised tasks.

First Class Maths provides deep, extremely challenging and quirky tasks.

The Maths Apprenticeship gives extended challenges for deepening mathematical and personal competence skills.

Logic Squares is all about getting children playing with numbers.

3 thoughts on “Questions for Deepening Part 2

Leave a Reply

